The redundant, St. Margaret’s Church, Morton-on-the-Hill can be accessed using estate roads. The adjacent Morton Hall was home to St. Robert Southwell. Hung drawn and quartered in 1595, Robert was canonised by Pope Paul VI in 1970. A slight detour in the opposite direction takes us to the village of Weston Longville. Opposite the church is a pub named after the famous 18th Century diarist Parson Woodforde.
Past Weston we continue towards Lyng and Elsing. At Easthaugh, overlooking the verdant valley, a clump of trees marks the site of a pre-conquest church and convent named after the martyr king, St. Edmund. It has a fascinating history. A short detour leads through the woods to the mysterious King’s Stone.
Those who wish to visit the village of Lyng, with a church, pub and a general store must turn aside from the route. The main route takes us to Elsing where St. Mary’s Church and the Mermaid pub both deserve a visit from those thirsting after righteousness. St. Mary’s has a beautiful, but faded, rood screen with an image of St. Ann teaching her young daughter to read .
From Elsing quiet roads take us to Swanton Morley. Saunterers might choose to detour by taking the riverside path, turning right after Penny Spot Beck.